Nz Respiratory Achievers Awards Logo

Respiratory Achievers' Awards February 2023

Congratulations to the winners in the 2023 Respiratory Achievers Awards. The awards celebrate the achievements of outstanding New Zealanders living with respiratory conditions and have been made possible by the generous support of our Platinum sponsor G.J. Gardner Homes.

Our winners are:

Liam Dulver

Child Asthma (5 - 12 years old)

Liam Dulver, 11, Lower Hutt

“I try not to let asthma stop me from doing anything. If I start to feel asthma symptoms when I run, I just take my reliever." Read Liam's story.

Mohammed Umair Khan Muhammed Tabrez Khan

Asthma 13 – 18 years

Mohammed Umair Khan, 16, Mangere

“I am proud that I have overcome my fear of having a respiratory condition. I know that if I work hard, I can cope with other problems.” Read Umair's story.

Taumata Sir John

Adult Asthma

Taumata O Te Rā Lowe, Meremere

“My big asthma attack when I was young, gave me an early lesson in the importance of making the most of your life." Read Taumata's story.

Gary Syme


Gary Syme, Christchurch

"COPD can make you very tired and exercise combats that tiredness. If you do nothing, it makes it so much worse physically and you can fall into a deep, dark hole mentally." Read Gary's story.


Other respiratory conditions

Edward Lee, Wellington

"We’re no longer worried that I’m going to die really soon. Previously it felt like I was living in a dark cloud, but now we can plan for our future.” Read Ed's story.

Kayla White Sir John Lady Kathy

Cody Forbes Award for Courage

Kayla White, Nelson

“When Kayla is told she can’t do something, she will go out of her way to prove them wrong." Read Kayla's story.

Maryana Garcia

Media Awareness

Maryana Garcia, NZME

Rebecca And Claire Richards

Respiratory Educator

Claire Richards, Tawa

Ann Wheat

Lifetime Service

Ann Wheat, Auckland, Asthma NZ

Read more about our finalists here.

Event Gallery:

A word from our sponsor:

"Having personally seen the effect asthma has had on family members, the G.J. Gardner team are proud to support the Asthma and Respiratory Foundation's work, including the Respiratory Achievers' Awards."