Scientific Advisory Board

Our Scientific Advisory Board comprises of New Zealand's leading experts in respiratory health service delivery and research. The group brings quality assurance and strong credibility to the Foundation’s work by approving all major projects and publications, including position statements on health issues and research proposals.

Scientific Advisory Board members: 

Dr Stuart Jones (Chair)
Consultant Respiratory/Sleep Physician
Counties Manukau DHB

Dr Tristram Ingham 
Respiratory Epidemiology, Māori Health
University of Otago Wellington

Professor Innes Asher
Respiratory Paediatrician
University of Auckland, Auckland DHB

Professor Richard Beasley
Consultant Respiratory Physician
Medical Research Institute of NZ

Professor Lutz Beckert
Consultant Respiratory Physician
University of Otago Christchurch, Canterbury DHB

Professor Richard Edwards
Public Health, Smoking Cessation
University of Otago Wellington

Professor Bob Hancox
Consultant Respiratory Physician
Waikato DHB, University of Otago

Dr Matire Harwood
General Practitioner
Papakura Marae, University of Auckland

Mr John Kristiansen
Health Quality & Safety Commission

Ms Betty Poot
Respiratory Nurse Practitioner
Hutt Valley DHB

Dr Adrian Trenholme
Counties Manukau DHB

Professor Jim Reid
General Practitioner
University of Otago

Mrs Teresa Demetriou
Nursing, Research, Respiratory Health
Asthma and Respiratory Foundation NZ

Letitia O'Dwyer
CE of the Asthma and Respiratory Foundation NZ 
National and International Scientific Advisory Board facilitator 

Is your asthma under control?

Take the asthma control test to find out