Asthma and COPD Fundamentals Course

The Asthma and Respiratory Foundation provides the most current Asthma & COPD Fundamentals course available in New Zealand, designed for all registered health professionals including GP's, nurses and pharmacists.

The course aligns latest research with specific information for the New Zealand context, such as recently funded medications, treating Māori and Pacific peoples and best practice health literacy.

The course consists of two sections, an e-Learning Series and a classroom based MasterClass. Upon completion, a total of 20 Continuing Professional Development (CPD) hours will be awarded.

e-Learning Series

The e-Learning Series consists of four online modules, in which a ‘flipped classroom’ provides a contemporary approach to CPD. This enables health professionals an enjoyable and easily accessible continuing professional development experience. The e-Learning Series was developed with Whitireia NZ.

The four online modules include:

1) Asthma fundamentals (Current statistics for NZ, anatomy and physiology of the respiratory system, functions and control of respiration, features of asthma such as early and late phases, triggers, occupational and exercise induced asthma, diagnosis and tests).

2) Asthma Management (Goals of treatment, medications, adult and child asthma guidelines, treatable traits, asthma action plans).

3) COPD Management (COPD statistics in NZ, morbidity and mortality, causes and onset of COPD, signs and symptoms, pathophysiology, diagnosis, goals of management, self-management and COPD guidelines)

4) Health Promoting Practice (Social determinants of health, health promoting practice, cultural responsiveness and health literacy)

Feedback from course pilot participants has been positive:

I think an excellent job has been done here as everything is clearly explained in a range of ways that make it interesting to complete, well done!”

MasterClass

The classroom-based MasterClass supports the online learning and is completed in one day. It involves a group based learning experience, putting the eLearning into practice using scenarios that focus on health literacy.

The training will be delivered by certified regional trainers and must be undertaken within six months of completing the online modules. 

There are MasterClass trainers in the following areas: Whangarei, Kaitaia, Bay of Plenty, Hawke's Bay, Waikato, Gisborne, Wellington, Porirua, Marlborough, Christchurch and Timaru.

The MasterClass was developed with Health Literacy NZ. 

The e-Learning series is now available. Visit https://cpd.whitireia.ac.nz/ to enrol. The first MasterClass will be available in June 2017.

To receive course updates, enter your email address below and tick the 'health professionals' box. 

For more information please contact our GM - Education and Research:

Teresa Demetriou
Email: teresa@asthmaandrespiratory.org.nz
Phone: 04 499 4592


The Asthma & COPD Fundamentals MasterClass is delivered by certified trainers in regions across New Zealand;

Find your nearest trainer here:

Kaitaia: 09 408 3142 ext. 109

Marilyn Dyer: marilynd@tttpho.co.nz

Whangerei: 09 438 1015

Josephine Davis: josephineD@manaiapho.co.nz

Gisborne: 06 869 0500 ext. 8112

Sarah Garrett: Sarah.Garrett@tdh.org.nz

Michelle Scott: Michelle.Scott@tdh.org.nz

Bay of Plenty: 07 577 6738

Debbie Elliot: debbie@asthmabop.org.nz

Hawkes Bay: 06 835 0018

Chris Davidson: chris@breathehb.co.nz

Jo Smiley: jo@breathehb.co.nz

Porirua: 04 238 4931

Moana Gargiulo: Moana.gargiulo@oratoa.co.nz

Wellington:  978 4381

Barbara Scott: Barbara.Scott@compasshealth.org.nz

Marlborough: 03 579 1609

Karen Vis: Asthma.marlborough@xtra.co.nz

Christchurch: 03 386 0278

Teresa Chalecki: teresa@canbreathe.org.nz

Rosemary Thompson: rosemary@canbreathe.org.nz

Timaru: 03 687 2331

Deborah Box: dbox@scdhb.health.nz


Is your asthma under control?

Take the asthma control test to find out