On Thursday 19 April 2018, the Asthma and Respiratory Foundation NZ celebrated its 30th annual New Zealand Respiratory Achievers' Awards. With respiratory diseases affecting over 700,000 Kiwis, all forms of support and awareness are significant to helping those impacted. The Foundation is honoured to put on two awards ceremonies: the Respiratory Achievers' Awards which allow us to praise those individuals making a real difference while living with respiratory diseases, and the Media Awards which are to recognise people who utilise their resources to spread awareness about respiratory conditions.  


The night was filled with remarkable guests and speakers sharing inspirational stories. Among them was Erin Simpson, TV Personality and Ambassador for the Asthma and Respiratory Foundation NZ, who announced the evenings winners. She was accompanied on stage by Sir John Clarke, Lady Kathy Clarke, and ARFNZ CE Letitia Harding, who helped present the awards.  

Alistair Harsant, another Ambassador for the Foundation, spoke about living with chronic asthma and the extraordinary challenges he has still been able to overcome. Alistair discussed how he manages his condition by training for and competing in Ironman competitions. His determination, courage, and perseverance shined through and touched everyone in the room.  

Foundation Chief Executive Officer, Letitia Harding, expressed, "It was a delight to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the Respiratory Achievers' Awards. The awards are about honouring the achievements of inspiring New Zealanders living with a respiratory condition, as well as recognising there is still a long way to go to address respiratory issues in New Zealand. These people should inspire us all to continue the valuable work that we do by helping to raise awareness, educate, and support important health research, whilst also continuing to push for a government prominent respiratory health target" said Letitia.

See below for a complete list of this year's winners.  


2018 Achievers' Award Winners:

Media Award Winners: