The Respiratory Media Awards are in place to recognise the important role that media play in respiratory education. Journalists, talk show hosts, videographers, and health professionals are invited to submit respiratory-related stories published or broadcast in 2016 and 2017.

The award categories are:

Judges will be looking for winning stories that provide a balanced and accurate report of respiratory issues.

Four media award winners will be flown to Wellington all expenses paid, to be presented an award at a prestigious national award ceremony on 19 April 2018.


Winners for stories published or broadcast in 2015 were:  

Quality reporting helps to keep respiratory issues top of mind in the community and reinforces the fact that we still have a long way to go, to reduce the impact of respiratory diseases in New Zealand.

Ambassador for the Foundation, Erin Simpson says, "The awards are a big deal! The awards recognise and reward the efforts of those living with respiratory conditions and also journalists reporting on respiratory issues. This is incredibly important in raising awareness and helps to build a better future." 

Respiratory disease includes asthma, bronchiectasis, bronchiolitis, pneumonia, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), lung cancer and obstructive sleep apnoea.

Respiratory Media Awards entries close on 28 February 2018. There is no limit to the number of media entries received per person.

The Respiratory Media Awards ceremony will be held in conjunction with the Respiratory Achievers’ Awards, which honour and celebrate the achievements of New Zealanders living with a respiratory condition. 

Respiratory Media Awards 2018 – Entry Form

News & events

View all